ROD REPAIR ON OLD BAITCAST ROD

Started by Eddie Hernandez, April 26, 2018, 03:00:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eddie Hernandez

Hi All-I found and old rod in my shed which had taking a lot of punishment from the sun and also had some latex paint drippings on it, my approach was to just remove the paint and go over the pole with a fresh coat of finish, but that quickly turned into me sanding the entire rod down removing all the finish and removing the guides just leaving the cork handle and reel seat on. I want to add I have zero experience rod building, don't let the rod wrapper fool anyone i took it from my buddy who had it buried in his basement along with a bunch of resin and a bunch of tools used for rod building. I hope to build my own custom rod one day, I have been practicing using the wrapper on an old blank. Now back to rod repair, now that i have removed the finish/paint/guides and wiped the blank down to remove all the residue. Whats next?
Any guidance/info how to go about this would be greatly appreciated.

I have attached some photos.

thx

ed

gstours

The pictures already make you look professional.  I,d say place the guides back on where they were after light sanding of the bottoms of the feet to inshure they have no burrs.   Masking tape cut into 1/4 inch strips can help butt my preference is elastic thread as you can adjust guides easily.
   You should have lots of advice coming 🤳 soon as I'm not an expert.   There is lots of info out there on wrapping and coatings.   Go slow, start on one end and continue.   Put the top guide on with epoxy before aligning the others.  Between the reel foot and top eye is a straight line eventually.   
  Have fun,  this is just the beginning of a fun hobby. ;)

Eddie Hernandez

thanks for the info!! Is painting it an option with some kind of spray can paint? What kinda paint would work best?

oldmanjoe