Found something strange in my Tekota 700

Started by Board4life, August 11, 2011, 06:33:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Board4life

Opened up my Shimano Tek700 and as I was removing the dogs I found something strange. :-\

This shot of the two screw holes shows one threaded and the other not so much.

This is what I pulled out of the holes.

I am no expert but, since there is only one out of the four screw not threaded, I am assuming there is a mistake. Is this common? And what can I do to fix it? I have had the reel for a few years now with no problems but I am sure it would be wise to find a way to get that more secure.

Thanks

Robert

Nessie Hunter

Will the threaded screw hold in the other hole with damaged threads???

If so???   
Shimano Parts will probably send you a new screw for free (Good customer service on small stuff).
877-577-0600
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....
WOW!!! WHAT A RIDE!

kamuwela

if you can find a tap that size try cleaning up the threads and see if the old screw hold's. if it does then you got lucky, just order a new screw. one with threads   ;D i also agree call shimano and send them the pic's and see what they say, no harm in asking.

broadway

I never opened a shimano tekota, but if it's like the Penn Senator bridge screws (for the spring to compress or stretch without interruption from the threads) maybe it serves a purpose.  If it's the screw that holds the dog it could be to prevent it from being screwed down too tight.  I would check the schematics or call shimano before you put a screw or tap it.
Best of luck,
Dom

Alto Mare