Teamed up with my very good friend and soon to be founder of OCTO Engineering

Started by TheReelShop, June 21, 2019, 02:26:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheReelShop

So I've been doing reel repair for about 3 years now as a side gig and about 6-8 months of rod repair also. My friend is a recent graduate from mechanical engineer ~1 year. This guy is really good on the drawing board and for lack of better words to describe him, he's a bad ####. Around the beginning of this year he managed to complete and build his own CNC. I told him that we could try and cut out some reel drags, since doing it on my own was becoming very difficult to produce especially without proper equipment. Aside from just round drags some reels have more complex drag washers with regard to shape. So we teamed up after I got his interest.

So far we've cut out for a TLD25, Tyrnos 8 10, and a Calcutta 150. Now working on a TLD 15. I've already repaired some reels with our cut drags and so far we've been pleased with our results. Here is a few pictures of the work. Don't know what is in plan for the future but its a start.

HERE IS A CALCUTTA 150 ORIGINAL NEXT TO OURS

TYRNOS CAME APPARENTLY WITH SOME DRAGS DEFECTIVE. WEAVE PATTERNS ARE DIFFERENT AND I DONT KNOW WHOM THEY SOURCED IT FROM

OURS

TLD25

HERE IS A SHORT CLIP OF OUR WORK

Gfish

Fishing tackle is an art form and all fish caught on the right tackle are"Gfish"!

TheReelShop

Yes most likely. One of our goals among others,  is to be able to reproduce for any reel out there. We want to try and tailor individual requests. Maybe some insight on here can maybe lead us somewhere. We have in line to manage the old school Penn internationals for example since they are hard to come by and are discontinued. Those will require us to probably fab up complete drag plates but we'll see when we get there. Thanks!!

steelfish

The Baja Guy

Ron Jones