Daiwa Lexa wn 400h won’t engage

Started by Muskybeagle24, July 14, 2019, 04:01:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Muskybeagle24

Hello all I'm just getting into reel repair and is something I would like to learn just for myself and friends and need a little help with this problem. So my problem started when I was out on the water and my reel started to bog down and lost its smoothness I could feel resistance when reeling line in. So I decided to address the problem myself and figured I'd learn about my reel and I DID. I opened it and started cleaning with alcohol and looking everything over everything looked fine compared to other tutorials and pictures. And it was running silky smooth seemed back to normal EXCEPT the reel won't engage out of free spool when crancking the handle. It will manually with no problems. So I've torn apart and retorn apart everything for many hours trying to figure the problem out. The only thing I've learned besides how my reel goes together without pictures anymore is that the reel will engage every time with the COVER OFF but everything else installed (main gear, yoke, etc). Which is driving me crazy! Because I can't figure it out. The only think would be the something with the springs maybe connecting kick lever? But any help would be much appreciated so that I don't have to send my reel in for repair and feel defeated. Thanks

alantani

The ratchet gear has to engage the kick lever. The thumb bar pushes the kick lever down.  Then the kick lever rotates in towards the ratchet with a spring assist. Something about the side plate might be preventing the kick lever from rotating in.
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Riy2018

I have similar issue with Lexa 300 HD. once you press thumb bar is it hard to engage. I added some synthetic oil on it but still it is not smooth that should be. Thinking this common issues with Lexas?

alantani