Franken reel

Started by CooldadE, November 13, 2011, 06:21:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CooldadE

I have a bunch of parts form various penn reels. I would like a 99 size Jigmaster. I have a standard Jigmaster 500 and a reel stand and posts from a 112H. If I score a original 99 spool can I assemble these parts into a 99 size Jigmaster ?
I would rather be judged by 12 than carried by 6...

Alto Mare

No! Parts for a 99 are hard to come by. Check eBay, there is a 99 for $15 and parts also. Good luck!
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

CooldadE

No as in if I had a 99 spool it woulden't work / fit or no, parts are hard to come by ?

akfish

Finding a 99 width stand will be the tough part once you have the spool.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

broadway

You could always go with a tiburon frame... they're on ebay. 
Dom

Alto Mare

Yes Dom, but with the parts that he has he would end up with a 501. The best bet is to buy the complete reel on eBay, parts are hard to find. Another option would be a surfmaster 250, I believe that the guts are the same. The 99 stand has 6 holes 3 on each side, very unusual for a reel that small, but he could use his spool and a Tiburon as you mentioned.
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

CooldadE

The posts for the 99 and the 112H are one and the same, penn part  37-65. So the 112H stand I have is the same width as the 99 stand. The 112H stand fits the Jigmaster frame along with the posts. In theory if I had a 99 spool be it original or Newell / Tiburon I could pop it in and have an Albacore Special. At this point I need to know if the original 99 spool is compatible with my Jigmaster sideplates

Alto Mare

If I remember correctly, I don't believe that it would work. Sorry, I don't have a 99 spool to test it. Just out of curiosity, why not go with a 112h or a 501 ?

CooldadE