Mitchell 300 questions...

Started by basenjib123, January 22, 2020, 04:49:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

basenjib123

I'm new to working on Mitchell's so bear with me... My question is when a Mitchell 300 is adjusted properly (shims) .. should you still be able to feel the gears through the handle? Also, should there be any side to side play in the handle? How about the rotor should there be play there?... Thanks.

mo65

I don't claim to be a Mitchell expert or anything...but I have been inside a few of them. The 300 is probably one of the toughest reels to service and be totally satisfied with the results. Many times a 300 will end up feeling rough after a servicing, mostly because the tiny shims behind the gears can be lost in the old grease very easily. Once the order of "what went where" has been lost, getting back to normal can be a taxing event. And don't forget...even with everything adjusted to it's possible best...the 300 will never be as smooth or quiet as a 308 or 306. It's just the nature of the design. I guess I'm taking the long way around saying "don't be discouraged by a 300, it's a hard one to perfect". 8)
~YOU CAN TUNA GEETAR...BUT YOU CAN'T TUNA FEESH~

Gfish

It can be an interesting project trying to get the gears smooth and relatively less noisy, but a 300 with alota use on it may never get back new condition.
Fishing tackle is an art form and all fish caught on the right tackle are"Gfish"!

foakes

300's are fine reels -- tens of millions produced -- well proven -- attractive design -- unique engineering design inside the case --

but...the gears are an alloy pot metal prone to wear -- that is one reason why shimming is necessary.

Once they start to wear -- even shimming will seldom cure the grinding noise.

On a good note -- they will likely grind for the next 40 years -- and catch thousands more fish.