XB65, a look inside

Started by festus, January 22, 2020, 06:33:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

festus

This reel came from an ebay delivery last week with a couple of the larger N series D-A-M Quicks.  I didn't have much expectation from this one, but have been surprised with a couple of ugly duckling Zebco spinners in the past.  Reeling was slow, the anti-reverse and drag worked, bail functioned, but needed cleaned, and the line out clicker on the spool wasn't working. According to the online Zebco page, these reels debuted in either 1971 or 1972, the same time frame I graduated high school.  I copied this information from a 1972 ad:

Medium freshwater/light saltwater reel.  Stainless steel ball bearing smoothness.  Precision, heavy-duty gears.  Diecast aluminum body and cowl with baked on finish.  Stainless bail arm with hard-chromed roller guide.  Fast 4.3:1 gear ratio.  Spring loaded multiple-disc drag system for smooth, positive control.  Selective anti-reverse.  Hard chromed handle folds for compact storage. Corrosion resistant throughout.  Weight: 13.5 oz.  Snap-off spool is anodized aluminum, paraffin-impregnated to resist corrosion.  Holds 170 yds 14 lb test monofilament line.

The rear cover screw is shorter than the front two screws.

No doubt it had been a while since this reel was serviced.

Removing the oscillating slider pin.

Removing the axle that was stubborn to get out.

Removing the 12mm nut that has standard right hand threads.

Removing the bearing holder, pinion gear, and bearing.

Removing drive gear.

A look at the anti-reverse assembly.  No reason to take this piece out because the housing can be cleaned by working around it.

The bail components needed removed and cleaned.

A look at the drag assembly.

Removing bail arm, screw, spring, and other parts.

A look inside the rotor cup and bail trip assembly.

A look at the line out clicker assembly which wasn't functioning.