When is direct drive for backreeling when fishing beneficial?

Started by Lingwendil, February 20, 2020, 03:47:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lingwendil

I see that some of the older Penn reels (some of the Mag 10, some Squidders, etc) have the ability to disengage the anti-reverse feature, and fish in "direct drive" mode. I hear that this can be useful for backreeling line out to play live bait, let current pull line, etc without placing the reel in freespool or changing the drag setting. I'm still rather new to conventional reels, as I've fished spinning reels almost exclusively for my whole life until this last summer, so I'm trying to figure how this could be useful for me to possibly read up on to improve my fishing experience. Is there any articles, recommended reading, or any material I should look into that can help me grasp the concept better? Even a simple writeup to get my noggin joggin would be helpful :)
Levelwind Lunatic! Cheap Bastard!

Penn and Pflueger nutjob!

Eyes out for: Pflueger Rocket, vintage 4-1 ratio or better spinning reels (especially metal-bodied and ultralight!)

thorhammer

mainly used if one is drift fishing to keep bait on bottom or in a zone while boat is moving, like flounder fishing an inlet or creek with live bait or jig. Not exactly sure why the Squidder has it- really designed as surfcasting piece where backreeling is useless IMO; but Mag 10's are great flounder reels and i use mine about every weekend on stripers.

John

MarkT

It always seemed to me to be a solution in search of a problem.  There may be a reason it isn't found in reels designed in the last 50 years!
When I was your age Pluto was a planet!

smnaguwa

When I lived in So CA, I used the Squidder direct drive when fishing anchovies on a party boat. I was probably misguided in thinking it would help hooking the bonito and lip hooking the barracuda.

foakes