"Part Hogs" for older conventional Penns

Started by Brandon G, April 19, 2020, 11:05:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brandon G

Hello,

In my line of work, we have machines which use the same parts interchangably, even though being a completely different model... kind of like Penns.
We have machines in our shop called 'part hogs' because they share a significant amount of parts with machines we have in the field.

Are there certain models to pick up that are cheap that have more interchangeable parts than others?
I currently am planning on servicing my 140, 155, 67, and 85 if that helps narrow down the hogs at all... haha

I'm basically asking as I'm going to be coming across a lot of reels shortly and I can't afford to purchase them all, and I wanted to make sure if there aren't any 'good ones' that I grab any hogs.

I'm very new to this hobby but so far it has been nothing but a blast.

Thank you in advance!

~brandon
Tight Lines :)

mo65

That 85 you're servicing is one of the "parts hog" models. They are very cheap most times and have a lot of common parts. More great low cost parts models are the Delmar 285, the 180 Baymaster, and the 155 Beachmaster. Anytime you run across a Jigmaster cheap it's a great parts source too. Unfortunately, cheap parts reels are becoming an endangered species. Less and less $10 reels are listed on fleabay...they are being listed for $25 plus these days...it seems the endless supply of cheap Penn parts has finally begun to dry up.
~YOU CAN TUNA GEETAR...BUT YOU CAN'T TUNA FEESH~

Brandon G

Great!
The 85 is gonna be my 3rd reel I service, maybe 2nd. I'm planning on doing my squidder first.
If I find a Jigmaster 500 I'm going to 99 it with my silverbeach that is in almost new condition.

I made a few posts on FB asking for reels, rods and tackle, and a lot of people are reaching out. I'm trying to filter the people to old or rich, preferably with boats or lives on the water. HAHAHA