tyrnos 30

Started by bobboa, December 14, 2011, 08:29:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bobboa

Hi guys.
My first post .
I am just starting out maintaining my reels and I am relatively poor in knowledge of engineering.
I have a tyrnos 30 a couple of years, old lightly fished.
Decided it was time to have a crack at maintenance myself .
The nut molded into the centre of the right side plate looks like it has rotated . On the inside of the plate the composite has a circle of "pimples" in the material surrounding the metal. The outside shows a slight amount of rotation of the nut in its bed,,, maybe  0.2mm.
As I said not a heavily used reel, and i cannot remember ever putting maximum load on it . drag is preset for 17lb.
What would cause this to happen?? Is this a common occurrance on this reels ?

Regards
Ando

redsetta

G'day and welcome aboard Ando - you're definitely in the right place.
The hex nut shouldn't come under load from drag settings as the lever pivots around it (creating lateral force only).
It's possible (though unlikely) someone's had a crack at servicing the reel and mistakenly torqued the nut.
However, it may just appear to have rotated (especially if you're talking about a fraction of a mm).
I haven't done one in a few months but, from memory, this is normal.
That said, it might pay to snap a pic just to be sure.  ;)
Let us know how you go.
Good luck, Justin
Fortitudine vincimus - By endurance we conquer

alantani