Jigmaster 500 question

Started by smazzola, August 29, 2021, 12:10:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smazzola

Hey guys, I bought a Jigmaster 500 on eBay for my own use. After replacing the drag stack and serving & reel-lube, works nice, except there is to much end play in the spool. I have the non handle side bering screw in all the way. I'm new to this stuff, so I looked at the schematic and I noticed a bering spring at that end of the reel. It was not there when I bought it and I noticed the play when it arrived. Is that my problem? See attachment. Steve
😄

Wompus Cat

Well if you bought it used someone probably swiped the Spring which is used to put Tension on the Cap so it won't
back off easily  and also may have swapped the cap itself as well with a shorter one .

Measure the cap length and post it for our reference  if you can .
Also make sure the other cap on the Handle side is Tight.
If a Grass Hopper Carried a Shotgun then the Birds wouldn't MESS with Him

smazzola

The handle side bushing cap is bottom out, tight. Steve
😄

Wompus Cat

That Cap should be @13mm or .5 in  .
You have the wrong Cap I think .

smazzola

A look at the non handle side plate and bering cap unscrew. ID purposes.
😄

smazzola

Un capped bering cap. ID purposes.
😄

smazzola

Here is the metric measurement on that bering cap.
😄

smazzola

If its the wrong bering cap, any ideas on how to get the right one? I look at mystic parts and there picture next to the part the number looks different than my side plate design.   :-\ Steve
😄

Wompus Cat

Ok,your Jiggy has a ball bearing in the end cap and the housing has spring tension on the plate so there would not be a spring necessarily. All of mine are just Bushings   .  You may have to remove the Bearing and shim it to get rid of the slack if it is minimal but if it is lot then something is amiss   I am not seeing .

Ron Jones