99' Econoline-Head Unit/Backup Camera

Started by jgp12000, December 21, 2021, 01:26:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jgp12000

A relative of mine just acquired a customized 99' Econoline for road trips/camping, and he is a yard sale buff as well. I suggested he should get a BT(handsfree)stereo/backup cam. Of course he asked me to pick it out with my background in electronics. I picked a few head units on Crutchfield with camera inputs, many of the new stereos do not even play discs anymore, just thumb drives, I have no knowledge in B/U cams other than the one in my 2016 F150,any insight will be appreciated.

foakes

I installed a Pioneer AVG215 a couple of years ago in my Toyota Tacoma.

The backup camera I installed directly above my rear license plate frame.

It is hard wired to the head unit in the dash (plug-in) — so there is no interference when conditions are less then ideal or other electronics in the area may interfere.

It works with everything I own, and more than I have.  CD, DVD, Bluetooth, iPods, iPhone, remote controlled, touch screen, iPad, MP3 players.  Large screen.

An average quality B/U camera is as good as one costing 4 times as much, nowadays.

This whole unit cost me about $350 — and another $130 for (6) upgraded speakers.

B/U camera sure saves a lot of time when attaching a trailer.

There are thousands of head & camera units out there today — and I generally go with what Crutchfield or CNet offers and recommends.

This Pioneer unit and camera has been a solid and easy to navigate unit for me.  You don't need to buy a unit for a ton of $$$ — just a good quality unit from a company that has a good track record for decades.

Best, Fred
The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------

The first rule of fishing is to fish where the fish are. The second rule of fishing is to never forget the first rule.