Acrylic Handle Grips

Started by Cortez_Conversions, January 11, 2022, 08:28:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cortez_Conversions

Very happy to be bringing another new project to light!

You all may or may not know that Alan Tani has asked me to take on production of his Delrin handle grips. I've been making them now for two or three years and so far everyone seems really happy with them. I asked Alan if I could make and market these pretty acrylic handles and he "Go for it"!! These handles are based on Alan's universal handle, so all the hardware is included to mount to your favorite handle arm.

For now, I'm only going to be making the 3/0 and 5/0 sizes.

I've got to tell you, these are a pain in the behind to make! They are messy, lots of stinky fumes, and extremely time consuming to polish by hand. I have to wear a respirator to keep away from the fumes and spend quite a bit of time cleaning my machines downafter the machining/polishing processes.

So giving you all a glimpse of what it takes to make thes handles, they will always be a custom almost made to order kind of deal. I'll be batching them in runs of a dozen or so at a time, focusing on colors that you all gravitate to. Due to the manufacturing process for the acrylic blanks, the swirls, ribbons, fade and sparkle is different on each piece.
I'll have these up individually on the website soon, so keep an eye out!

Tom
Visit: cortezconversions.com
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.-Sal

steelfish

those are an artwork.

good to see someone is going to making those again.

is that the only Style you are going to make?
any estimated price yet?

The Baja Guy

foakes

Those are really beautiful, Tom!

And very capable as well as functional.

I need one of these for my silver 20/0 Cortez/Tib with your great sideplates — if that might be possible?