Eyes up, or down?

Started by gstours, February 25, 2022, 03:53:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gstours

In the flys I posted recently this question arose.   I had a bunch of mixed hooks, so I liked the looks of the straight eyes first and then got to thinking🤔,   If I was an expert why do I not know why and when to use a bent down eye hook or even the bent up eye hook?   Somebody knows and now has a reason to tell us all.     Thanks buddy,   Whoever you are.🙋‍♂️
Thanks🙋‍♂️.
    And now the reel part of the post.    I recently saw a picture of a fly vise that possibly others in the salty world have a good use for.   This is the posted u-tube clip.    Plain and simple.    The first 6 minutes at least.    You can spare this much time right?
  I'm generally using hooks 6/0-10/0 for stinger and trailer hooks as well,   This is function over form..........🎣

Most comments welcome.   ;)   

jurelometer

If we throw  away the tweed and bamboo tradition aspect, it is mostly a matter of how you tie the leader to the hook.  If the leader goes through the eye and is tied to the shank,  then you want an upturned or downturned eye so that the leader lays inline with the hook.  This is common with trout flies and knots like the turle  knot.

The trouty guys will use an up or down turned eye based on tradition for a given pattern, how the  eye fits in with the profile of the fly's body, and gape clearance. Realistically, since most fly fishers tie a simple clinch knot to the eye, they are probably better off with straight eyes.

If you plan to use an  active retrieve with the fly, the right answer is almost always tying a loop knot from the leader to a straight eye hook.  Nothing tracks or swings better.   The vast majority of saltwater flies are tied on straight eye hooks.

There are exceptions for saltwater flies:   One option for a trailer hook is to snell or loop in an octopus hook with an upturned eye.