Penn 49 Mariner

Started by smazzola, May 07, 2022, 01:33:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smazzola

Dose the Penn 49 Mariner reel seat, angle down when screwed on the post or do I have a torque, bent reel seat? This was an eBay reel that was not represented truthfully. There has been a few things I have found. I believe this reel was rode hard.
😄

Swami805

Looks bent to me, aluminum spool though, that's a plus.
Do what you can with that you have where you are

smazzola

Yea, it looks bent to me too, & the studs do not line up with the rod clamp. I'm new to the Penn 49, thought I'd ask the experts. I updated the drags, I think it might make an interesting reel to troll for salmon. I live in SW Oregon, I will have to keep my eyes open for a use one.
😄

thorhammer

Those seats can be had for ten bucks. Nice trolling reels.

smazzola

I've been looking on eBay no luck so far. Any name of other sites that I might check? Thanks
😄

Keta

The part you need is a 30-49, Mystic Parts ( Mystic Parts Link) lists them as "No Longer Available".

Someone here might have one and I will look in my parts to see if I do.  FYI, I am in Klamath Falls.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

quabbin boy 62

i just ran downstairs and looked- all 3 of mine are at a right angle, so I'd say that one is bent. x2 what Keta gave you for parts, maybe find a reel at a garage sale for parts.

Gfish

What's the reel look like when attached to a rod? Bad angle? Does it tilt-up or down? Maybe the former owner tweaked it to fit into rod's seat-hoods.
Fishing tackle is an art form and all fish caught on the right tackle are"Gfish"!

Keta

I found a 30-49 in almost new shape, PM me your address and I will put it in the mail.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

mikeysm