Narrow Frame Reels and Grease questions...

Started by chris73, February 10, 2010, 02:42:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chris73

What is the benefit of narrow reels (49, 149, etc.), narrowing kits and such?

Grease: should we grease the main and pinion gears??

Thanks!

akfish

Narrow reels make it easier to lay the line evenly and have less wobble when retrieving. The narrow but large diameter spool on the 49 generates a high retrieve despite the relatively low 3.5 to 1 gear ratio. BTW: The 149 has only a 2 to 1 gear ratio and much less drag than the 49. And you should grease the main and pinion gear.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

BigT

It greatly reduces the tendency for the rod to want to turn over in your hands (so the reel ends up under the rod instead of on top) under load. I'm not an engineer so won't explain this well but when the line on an overhead (conventional) reel is at the edge of the spool under load it acts at a lever trying to twist the rod... the further from the centre line of the rod that the line gets, the greater the twisting force.  A narrow spool reel keeps your line closer to the centre line of the rod.

Cheers, BigT
more of my rebuilds on
http://www.fishraider.com.au

chris73

Thanks! But why do people refer to these as Trolling and Bottom reels? What would be the difference? (Ive been looking around Ebay)

BigT

That I can't help with... the naming of reel types seems to be very region specific (what's called a 'conventional reel' in the USA is called an 'overhead' here in Australia for example).  The advantages of a narrow frame reel are the same in any kind of fishing where you're wanting to reduce the tendency for the reel to flip the rod over.

Cheers, BigT
more of my rebuilds on
http://www.fishraider.com.au

conchydong