penn 49

Started by sturg, June 10, 2013, 11:20:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sturg

Hello fellow fishers I am a newbie to this site with limited experience rebuilding reels and would appreciate some advice.I like to fish sturgeon from shore.Most of the fish I catch are in the 3 to 6 ft range (30-100lbs)due to rocky/snaggy shoreline in my area it is necessary to cast 50 feet or more with a 12oz weight plus bait.Having tried many different reels from Avets to cheap Penn 330's and discovered The #49 penn is the perfect reel for this because of its fast retreive(weights get hung up on rocks near shore if you cant bring it in fast enough)line capacity and narrow spool for smooth casting.Levelwind reels wont work because i use braided/mono combination (mono having better abraision resistance)and the heavy mono causes frequent birds nests when casting.The 49 however has its problems namley the weak and jerky drag similar to the the 320/330gti and the fact that parts reels are hard to find where I live because of thier popularity with trollers.My questions are as follows:how much better are the carbonfibre drag washers and would they improve the jerkyness when cranked down?and secondly should I even be using this reel for 100+lb fish or am just destroying good trolling reels?

Ron Jones

If you search this forum you will find that this reel is discussed a lot. I think it is clearly an apropriate reel for what you are doing because it is working. You can do many things to this reel but to start switch to carbon fiber drags and by all means a stainless gear sleeve available from here from Alan or from Mysticparts.com. For casting I recomend looking for an aluminum spool. That and a good service with TSI and marine grease will get you going.

Ron

"Edited as per Moderators to correct Scott's Bait & Tackle over to their new store name Mystic Reel Parts / www.mysticparts.com"
Ronald Jones