Garcia Mitchell 306 Assembly Help

Started by Windsurfrgal, October 01, 2013, 02:48:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Windsurfrgal

I have inherited a Garcia Mitchell 306 from my Dad. I am new to fishing and wanted to clean and lube the reel.  I downloaded the instruction manual and schematics and took it apart. Unfortunately I can't get it back together.  The diagrams in the old manual are almost impossible to see the technique for some reassembly is a mystery. I think I must have a spring wrong somewhere.
I also ended up with a very tiny pin that is not anywhere in the directions. I don't know where it popped off of. I have searched You Tube and various parts sites but can't find anywhere that has an assembly video for this reel. Does anyone know where I could get either a video or diagrams for reassembly? 

Thanks!

bluefish69

Try Mitchell Fishing Reel Museum-- that's what I am using
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

TomT

I tore down, cleaned and lubed a couple of MG 302's and a 303.  When, in doubt, I just didn't take part of them apart too far.  I would assume most of the MG's are similar to your 306, so any MG spinning reel tutorial might work.  But I really don't know.  From my reading on this site, some avoid the spinning reels because of problems like yours.  Hopefully, somebody with real "reel" knowledge will respond and give you a better answer. Good Luck,
TomT

Captain64-200

Quote from: Windsurfrgal on October 01, 2013, 02:48:35 AM
I have inherited a Garcia Mitchell 306 from my Dad. I am new to fishing and wanted to clean and lube the reel.  I downloaded the instruction manual and schematics and took it apart. Unfortunately I can't get it back together.  The diagrams in the old manual are almost impossible to see the technique for some reassembly is a mystery. I think I must have a spring wrong somewhere.