12/0's are taking over!

Started by Shark Hunter, July 20, 2014, 07:41:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shark Hunter

Seems like no matter how many 12/0's I refurbish, I am constantly finding out new things. I had a heck of a time on my last one with the spool rubbing. It ended up being a warped handle side plate pushing on the spool too much. That was a new one. ::)
This one has brass a brass spacer on the lugs. Never seen that either.

All buttoned up. Two 12/0's with steel gears, ss posts and custom 8 stack! Two down, two to go.

That little green bottle is The ecoseal nonolube that a member here provided me, I have been using that on the bearings and you can definitely tell a difference verses the Reel X. Its good stuff. I'm not affiliated with this ecoseal, I just know it works! ;)
Life is Good!

floating doc

I'm new to the Senator reels, having always used Sealine reels.  I have bought four since Christmas. It's fun to open them up and see what's inside. The 115L that I had when you were in Destin had the old pre-HT100 drags, stock steel main and pinion gears, and a stainless sleeve.  It seemed like a strange combination.

That's one deep gear on that 12/0. Lots of room for drag washers!
Central Florida

Shark Hunter

The new drag washer kit from Scotts is a tad thinner than the old metal washers. I measured some and really couldn't tell a difference on a single washer, but when they are all stacked in. I can fit an eight stack of .120 cf in there. With the stock washers, that last key won't seat all the way. This particular reel was in really good shape, the clicker is a little sloppy, but still works good. all the parts just needed a wipe down. All I had to really use brake cleaner on was the gears and the bearings. Just a good spray and scrub with the toothbrush to remove the old grease packed in the teeth. It still had the old 5 stack asbestos in there. Not any more. ;)
Life is Good!

mrand

Hey Dayron