New member here

Started by Krabby Patties, August 10, 2014, 01:18:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Krabby Patties

Hello all.
Been reading a lot here lately.  Just joined up.
I'm in NC, and fish a lot. I'm just getting into shark fishing since a couple weeks ago I landed a 57" BT on a penn defiance 30 with 30# line. Man what a rush. I was flounder fishing and had my biggest rod slack line ing a 5-6" pin fish. When he hit he nearly had me spooled in ten seconds before we could get switched around in my boat and chase him down to get some line back. Then it was give and take while chasing him for about an hour to get him to the boat.
I have since bought a 114h2 combo to start out with on the cheap since I may only get to go 2-3 times a year. I have it spooled with 300 yds of 80# Power Pro braid and the remainder is Ande 50#. 

Krabby Patties

Oh yeah, I was thinking about getting the daiwa sealine 600 or 900 but read so much about difficulty getting parts and that that have been discontinued. I've had good luck with the penn reels I have so I went ahead and got the 114. I'll probably either get another one day or another brand after some more research. My penn spinners and the defiance 30 reel have impressed me a lot over the years though.

Keta

Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

MFB

No man can lose what he never had.
                                                   Isaac Walton

harryk3616

who lives in a pineapple under the sea,   welcome, long island  ny

DaBigOno

Aloha!    Welcome Krabby
Ua Mau ke Ea o ka Aina i ka Pono

Shark Hunter

Welcome Krabby Patties! ;D
Nice Blacktip! That was my first shark. Caught on a Bluefish head. Those BT's are feisty!
Life is Good!

Dominick

Welcome Krabby.  Dominick
Leave the gun.  Take the cannolis.