Penn 650ss Uneven spooling/ wraps problem

Started by joe7, September 11, 2014, 04:53:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

joe7

what is the cause of uneven spooling/ wraps at my penn 650ss?is there any way for me to repair it?
thanks  :)

Shark Hunter

Welcome Joe!
I am no expert on the spinners, but it has to be something with the worm gear mechanism. A professional will be right with you shortly. ;)
Life is Good!

foakes

Hi Joe --

Likely a Teflon washer or two ( thrust washer) under the spool would bring the line more evenly onto the spool.

Sometimes they get worn down or lost when the spool is removed.

Once the line starts to build up unevenly, it tends to keep tracking and expand the issue even worse.

Washers should be about 1/16" thick.

Whether or not you plan to replace the line, remove the line down to the spool hub -- then carefully crank it back on under a little back pressure -- paying attention to how the line is laying down.

Good luck, and let us know if there are still issues -- or if you're good.

Best,

Fred

The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------

The first rule of fishing is to fish where the fish are. The second rule of fishing is to never forget the first rule.

"Enjoy the little things in Life — For someday, you may look back — and realize that they were the big things"
                                                     Fred O.

Alto Mare

As Fred mentioned, try a thicker washer for under the spool and see if that helps, that is the most common place to look.
There are also other possibilities, remove the crosswind block and see if you notice any imperfections with the grove or if the pin on the crosswind gear that the block rides on is lose..it doesn't take much.
How you load the reel is also important, I use even pressure and always make sure the line spool faces the same direction as the spool on the reel.

Sal