new guy from lompoc

Started by ppvj64, December 06, 2014, 09:09:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ppvj64

New guy to this great site. I have always just tossed reels when they got worn out which were always cheap old reels from like malwart, Started buying better reels and fixing them myself which I do enjoy but I always just bought parts and replaced them Ive never even heard of greasing the drag or anything most people do to reels around this site. So Im just learning, I fish inshore saltwater mostly with penn 150s & 160s and a diawa sealine? level wind 450 I think?. There old but they have been great reels and all of them have caught many threshers and soupfins at gaviota pier before it got wrecked by a hardcore storm. I moved to lompoc when I discovered just how much my wife loves to fish and just because the fishing was so good at the pier and thats what me and her enjoy.I flew competition model airplanes for many years before I found out how much my wife loves to fish, So I, I mean we bought a boat in 2007 and the model airplanes sit gathering dust thats how much we enjoy fishing, One of the best things in life were finding something we both enjoyed and flying model airplanes was only fun for me:( almost like fixing reels my old lady has no intrest in that part of the sport but I do and I need to learn quite a bit more about fixing my great working old reels. Just from this site and personal experiance I have learned not to buy cheap junk and mods and fixing are good. Most of the reels we own are not even talked about on this site so Im guessing there not that good but we have to learn somewere. Thanks for reading my long boring story but we are here to learn and help the best we can so THANKS REEL PEOPLE. :) I cant believe Ive been on this site for almost 3 hours already HOLY CRAP:)
Pete j

fIsHsTiiCkS