Different 501 spool than I've seen

Started by Padre, February 11, 2015, 03:13:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Padre

This 501 is up for sale on the big auction site. I'm new to the Penn addiction, but I haven't seen a spool like this before. Why is it shaped like this? Is it an older model?

Porthos

Chrome spool, part 29M-250,

Pre-dates the aluminum 29L-501,

Would you be planning to fish it or just display it?

Shark Hunter

It is what they call a three piece spool Padre. Penn made these before the one piece versions and Aluminum.
Life is Good!

Maxed Out

Look next to the line tie post for a part number, it should be a 110 spool.......or same as a 1/0 senator. Believe it or not, the #36 catalog "B" lists the 501M as having 500yard capacity. Don't see that happening on that little spool.
We Must Never Forget Our Veterans....God Bless Them All !!

Padre

I don't think I've ever bought a reel I didn't intend to fish. It's actually a concept that I don't understand. If I get a reel, it's to fish it. Would this spool make this a less desirable fishing model than a later one?

Maxed Out

there is a 501 listed right now with the red aluminum spool...........That's the one you want if you're going to use it.
We Must Never Forget Our Veterans....God Bless Them All !!

Porthos

The Penn aluminum or Newell aluminum spools are the best of the different 501 spools for fishing in the 21st century, especially if you intend to upgrade to the 5+1 drag stack, one-piece frames, and SS gear sleeve for higher drag pressures.

Check Craiglist as well...501's come up from time to time and maybe better priced.

russ1962

I found this 501 at a local tackle store. It already had the older Tib frame, Accurate handle, new HT-100 drags, and aluminum spool. All this for $40.
I have since added the s.s. gear sleeve. Awesome reel for $40, plus the cost of the s.s. sleeve !
Shop around. There are deals out there on the older Penn's.

Shark Hunter