Braid amount for Newell G229F

Started by Bill Karr, April 06, 2015, 05:11:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Karr

I'm probably overthinking this but-
I have a Newell G229 that I want to put on braid and have a 100 yard top shot of 25-30 Lb. mono. The goal is 350 yards total. 300 minimum and 400 max. I have no experience with braid other than on a bottom fishing rig. I'm guessing 60 lb. solid braid will get me there but would appreciate the input of the experts.
Thanks,
Bill
Bill

Tunacious

This is a sticky in this section of the forum which I believe answers your question. See the spreadsheet from the Excel. The 229 is supposed to hold 290 yds of mono...however, that 20 lb line is tournament grade, which is thinner. I believe I get more like 250 yds of 20# BG or Izor.

Also, Newell never changed the stated line capacity since the aluminum spools came standard. The aluminum spools hold much more line...by design.

http://alantani.com/index.php?topic=1836.0

Keta

This is for Jerry Brown hollow 60#,
Weight   Breaking strength             Diameter                  Mono equivalent
 60lb          70lb                     .381mm   .015 inch             20lb
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Bill Karr

Thanks all,
Using both the Excel and Accurate calculator and BG and XXX diameters, when going from 250 yds. of 20 to 25, mono capacity goes to +/- 200 yds.
With JB 65 hollow I get 178 yds. plus 100 yds. 25 test top shot.
When I go to JB solid 50, I get 244 yds. plus 100 top shot
Interesting that the difference between the two programs was 3 yards of braid! Looks like I need some JB #50 solid! Thanks all
Bill

SoCalAngler