3/0 senator and shimano tld 25 lever drag for tuna fishing

Started by newport, June 29, 2015, 03:01:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

newport

Any tuna experts out here? I'm thinking about going on my first tuna trip this fall and am wondering if the 3/0 senator -- which I already own-- and a shimano tld 25 lever drag be enough for most fish in the northeast. I was thinking 30lb mono for the 3/0 and 40-50lb mono on the tld. What do you guys think? Also if you guys have any other input and advice, that'd be great too. Thanks.

Dominick

Newport I am not an expert.  Those reels will do but it depends on the type of boat you will be fishing from.  Also the size of the fish you will be targeting.  If you are fishing from a private boat or private charter which means you will have time to play the fish to the boat you should be okay and if you're looking at 30 to 50lb fish you will be under gunned with the 113.  Dominick
Leave the gun.  Take the cannolis.

There are two things I don't like about fishing.  Getting up early in the morning and boats.  The rest of it is fun.

RowdyW

newport

So far i been looking at a couple boats that do a 24hr tuna trip. 100ft boats with a maximum of 25 and 26 people on board with 17 being the minimum for the trip to take place. I haven't looked at any charters yet, but I don't think I want to even do that. It seems like it would be too pricey for something that wouldn't be a guarantee.

newport