101 Reel head

Started by clg003, September 01, 2015, 12:13:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

clg003

I am new to this... being from a beach town I have been fishing all my life and I still use the same reels I grew up with but I am sure I am have been just doing what I need to keep them fishable all these years and my background is a tech guy who tinkers and collects and breathes everything fishing.

I have been taking some of my dad's old reels and getting them working again but they are all spinning reels and while doing this I came across this forum and I was hooked. So I went out this weekend to an estate sale and found a dude that has a ton of old reels so I bought three for like 20 bucks and I am going to learn on the fly. With my impatient wrecking ball style I will likely get laughed at and ruin 1 or 2 of these but I plan on learning as much as I can for the next round.

The three I picked up were a Pflueger Capitol 1988, Penn No 180. and an Abu Ambassador 5500 C3.

My goal is to make em look half way decent and make it FISHABLE, catch at least at least 3 fish with it and then put it on the shelf and move to the next one.  I think I can lie my way out of one of those.

I have already started with the Pflueger and have obviously made my first mistake.

I started by breaking down all of the parts and separating anything that had hard plastic on it. Soaked them in Simple green overnight then cleaned them off and started to clean them with a toothbrush. After that I soaked them in vinegar for about 5 hours and started to clean them some more with a toothbrush.

Now I have heard jokes about people taking the chrome off of trailer hitches doing unspeakable things but I never thought somehow I could be wrapped up in that joke, but now I question everything and subsequently I have what appears to be a mostly solid brass Pflueger Capitol plate.