Servicing a Penn Senator 118 (16/0)

Started by Alto Mare, February 18, 2011, 11:41:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alto Mare

I am servicing a Penn Senator 16/0.  I am not a pro, but I just wanted to bring something to the table.

[IMhttp://s1101.photobucket.com/user/pescatore1/media/DSC_0026-2.jpg.htmlG]http://i1101.photobucket.com/albums/g431/pescatore1/Picture002.jpg[/img]

I will start by removing the handle.

Next, I will remove the right side plate.

I like to keep the screws in a marked container.

As you can see, the inner side of the plate looks pretty clean, but that doesn't mean much. I will set it on the side for now.

Next, I will remove the spool, the frame posts, and the stand.

I will then remove the left plate.

At this point, I will be working on the left plate.

I'll now remove the bearing. It feels good, so I'm only going to clean it and pack it with grease.

I will scrape some of the dried grease off of the clicker tongue and give it a good coat of grease before I put the bearing back in place.  I will also lightly grease the inside of the plate.

I will now install the frame posts and the stand.

I will put the spool back in place and set it on the side for now.

Now I will work on the right side plate. I start by removing the bridge screws.

As you can see, the sleeve needs to be replaced. The tip is rounded.

I have the true replacement, but I am going to go with a stainless steel upgrade (just my preference.)

The stainless steel sleeve had too much play, so I added a washer. It feels right now.

I will also be replacing the asbestos washers with HT100s.

The main gear is in pretty good shape, but at this point I am just going to replace it. We will get to this in a little while.

I will now remove the eccentric, bearing, and dog. I will clean the bearing as before.

The dog springs will need to be replaced. The one on the right shows wear.

I will now clean the yoke, the jack, and the eccentric and grease them. Then I will reassemble.