Help With Old Penn Ball Bearing

Started by nathanbrand, April 04, 2011, 02:59:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nathanbrand

I'm in the process of stripping down and cleaning an old Penn 650SS. This is the first time I've disassembled the reel to this extent. Attached are photos of the main bearing (Penn part #20-704). I was able to take it apart, clean it, and pack it with grease, but I can't seem to get it to go back together again. Is there a way to do this, or should I never have taken it apart to begin with? This is the original bearing, and is over 20 years old. I'm new to dealing with bearings, and I haven't seen one like this on any of the online tutorials I've been able to find.

Thanks

nathanbrand

Hmmm..... I'm having trouble getting photos to post: "Uploader is full" error.
I'll try to get them up there ASAP.

Alto Mare

How much did you take apart? did the bearings come out?
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

Bryan Young

You will need to use a photo host, like photobucket to post photos.

The bearing do slide off and should slide back on.  They are a little more difficult because the tolerances are tighter on the spinners for some reason.  You need to make sure that the bearings are square with the shaft that it's sliding on.

Try and get the pics and let's see if we can help further.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

alantani

the seals or shields come off, but nothing more.  did you get further than that?
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

nathanbrand

Okay, here are the photos posted on Photobucket:

I think I may have ruined this bearing. I assumed the white plastic washer piece was the shield, so I removed it. As you can see in the photos, the bearing is now in three pieces.

nathanbrand

While I'm at it. I posted some photos of the side bearings (Penn Part #20-6500).