A/R bearing cleaner?

Started by aqua71, December 15, 2018, 05:17:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aqua71

What is the most potent solvent I can use to clean A/R bearings on baitcasting reels that will not harm the plastic? Thanks.

alantani

i have used carb cleaner in the past.  the only problem was blowing out the rollers.  in general, recommend replacing them at the first sign of trouble. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Alto Mare

I would take the boss  suggestions they're always  good ones.

If you still did want to give it a shot on cleaning it and not worrying about plastic parts, give this product a shot:
https://www.amazon.com/PASLODE-219348-12OZ-CRDLS-Cleaner/dp/B004BGBB5W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1544920963&sr=8-1&keywords=paslode+cleaner#customerReviews
I think 75% of its ingredient is Naphtha, with  a little acetone, carbon dioxide and maybe another ingredient.

I've been using this stuff for about 6 years on my fishing reels and really like it.

Sal
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

Tiddlerbasher

I always go easy on ar bearings - there is usually a lot of plastic. I start with IPA (sonic bath helps). Then lighter fuel - napha. Acetone as a last result. To lube ar bearings I pretty much stay with CorrosionX or TSI321 (if it doesn't slip). Most (alot of) ar bearings will slip with regular  grease. Opinions vary :-\

Gfish

I've had ok luck with Inox Mx3. It's a lube/solvent, but much better than WD-40. Works pretty good as a high speed b.bearing lube, too, so the last residual bit don't godda be flushed out of a AR bearing.
Fishing tackle is an art form and all fish caught on the right tackle are"Gfish"!

aqua71

Quote from: alantani on December 16, 2018, 12:14:31 AM
i have used carb cleaner in the past.  the only problem was blowing out the rollers.  in general, recommend replacing them at the first sign of trouble.