113H SS 4:1 gear set sticking

Started by CaptainRMF, March 13, 2020, 03:48:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaptainRMF

Good morning guys I need your Brains. I upgraded a friend's 113H to SS pro challenger 4:1 gear set, SS yoke and eccentric jack yesterday. Complete service on internals and drag washers. All back together and when cranking it growls a little louder than the brass set that was original. Is this normal for SS gears. Does it break in and quiet down later. Also the worst part is in free spool if I tighten down the drag and hold the spool from spinning and crank it gets louder and I can feel the gears sticking or jumping. Doesn't do it if drag is completely loose though. This is my first time using SS parts. Took it apart again this morning and measured main gear and pinion and are exact same size as the old set I took out. Went over everything again put back together and same problem. I could use your help Oh Knowledgeable Ones !!!                                                                                                                      Thanks              Richy
Richy aka CaptainRMF

RowdyW

It's perfectly normal for SS gears. It should quiet down some with use under a load. It will never get as slooth & quiet like a bronze main gear.            Rudy

xjchad

Quote from: RowdyW on March 13, 2020, 04:30:34 PM
It's perfectly normal for SS gears. It should quiet down some with use under a load. It will never get as slooth & quiet like a bronze main gear.            Rudy

This is my experience with SS gears as well. 
Husband, Father, Fisherman

CaptainRMF