travel rods and reels

Started by tarpon, December 28, 2011, 04:03:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tarpon

Hi I'm new to this forum. I am looking for a good quality convectional travel rod and reel . Also a good quality spin travel rod to go with my stradic 6000. My target fish will range from dophin,wahoo,kings,tarpon to 150 #,shark,groupers,sailfish,cobia e.t.c.. I am not experienced at salt water fishing but very experienced at freshwater fishing using lighter tackle for big fish and would like to try the same thing with salt water gear. In the past I have gone on charters that used gear that was too big for intended targets. Although we caught fish it was no fun. It was button down the drags and crank in. Price range on the reel 400 to 600$ and 100 to 250$ on the rods. Rod and reel size I will leave to the experienced guys on this forum. I have been researching different forums and must say I am sooooooo confused. Originally I was looking at avets but not anymore. I have never torn down a reel for servicing and am a little hesitant. I'm leaning towards buying from Mark at charkbait because of the great things I heard about his shop. I would consider other on-line shops if members are aware of some good ones. Customer service is also important. By the way I'm not able to try these reels and rods because I live in Ontario, Canada and there are none around. Thanks in advance and happy holidays. 

Jimmer

You might want to check out the Davis rods on ebay.
What - me worry?   A.E.Neumann

conchydong

The Okuma Nomads might be another option. It seems that they are built with quality components also.

tarpon

Thanks for the rod info how about reels?

Jimmer

Wow, you just opened a big can of worms! Makaira 20, 30 or 50 with the appropriate line?

tarpon

What about Makaira II 8 to small?

Jimmer

Never actually touched a Makaira, just read alot of good things about them here, Alan or someone else can step in here please.

conchydong