Tiny guides for a spinning rod

Started by JasonGotaProblem, February 25, 2021, 09:04:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonGotaProblem

Quote from: oldmanjoe on March 04, 2021, 11:41:09 PM
   Just put one coat on for Sunday , after that then deal with it ..
   By now a lot of us are remembering  that time that we know we doing something not quite right ,but we are going to do anyway.....      ::)
Well put. I'm fairly self aware. Of the bad decisions I've made in life this is among the least permanent. Figure worst case scenario I gotta redo it.

I've been building (and using) this thing in my head for the past 2 months. I'm already planning the next (re)build. I just want this one finished.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

steelfish

Quote from: JasonGotaPenn on March 04, 2021, 11:55:27 PM
........ I'm already planning the next (re)build. I just want this one finished.

oh oh, down to the rabbit hole he goes !!
The Baja Guy

Midway Tommy

Quote from: JasonGotaPenn on March 04, 2021, 10:17:35 PM

My understanding is that the intent with this stuff is to glob it on and wait a few moments to start spinning, so the excess will run down and you remove with a dry brush. I want it to soak in fully but I don't want any more weight than I need.

That should depend on the speed of your drying motor. If it's slow like mine it will start to concentrate in one spot and drip if you glob it on too heavy. I've never been successful trying to do it that way. For me, I get better results applying, smoothing and tapering each wrap and then move on to the next one.   
Love those open face spinning reels! (Especially ABU & ABU/Zebco Cardinals)

Tommy D (ORCA), NE

Favorite Activity? ............... In our boat fishing
RELAXING w/ MY BEST FRIEND (My wife Bonnie)

philaroman

Quote from: steelfish on March 04, 2021, 09:30:55 PM
...specially if you apply any heat to the epoxy by alcohol torch, heatgun, etc