A good first conventional reel

Started by JasonGotaProblem, March 15, 2022, 02:16:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonGotaProblem

I've been trying to expand my fishing horizons. I've spent the past few months playing with a baitcaster on and off, and can generally cast with low risk of ratnest most the time. So I'm looking to take it to the next level and get my first conventional. The question is which one...

I have no experience at all "thumbing the spool" for line lay, and I guess I'll have to find an instructional video or something on what the heck that even means. But logically as such I probably wanna look for something with a narrower spool as I hear they're a bit more forgiving.

I also probably wanna find something with enough drag to make it worthwhile. So logically above 20# with 30 or more being ideal.

Easy to work on... Self explanatory. I can work with my abu blackmax and my spinners with little trouble, and my understanding is conventionals are SIMPLER inside on average so that should be ok but still a consideration.

I'd prefer something with a mechanical AR. I'm not anti ARB, and both is great, but I like reliability.

2 speed: do I want/need 2 speed? I don't know please tell me. I seem to have done just fine with one speed spinners my whole life but I know offshore its a different game.

Cost/availability. I don't want to/can't afford to spend an arm and a leg on this. So I'd like to find something either initially affordable or common enough that I could find one used for a reasonable price. I have no strong brand preferences.

I'm looking at a penn fathom 2 star drag, maybe the FTHII15SD? Seems to check a lot of boxes but I'm iffy about modern penns.

Thoughts? Thanks!
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

foakes

Hard to beat a Penn Jigmaster for your first Conventional.

1:4, aluminum spool, HT-100 drags, easy spool switch out when fishing, tough and proven.

Here is a new USA one for $55.