Main Gear Won't Engauge

Started by Crab Pot, June 19, 2023, 09:06:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crab Pot

Can't get my main gear to engage on my Black Sided Penn 3/0.

I'm a novice reel tech, this is only the second one I've worked on.

But I'm doing everything the way the 2nd Chance Tackle video on YouTube shows (multiple times) and nothing.

Pretty sure it a Yoke/Jack issues but it looks right to me.

Any thoughts?

Buy it nice or buy it twice.

Swami805

Do what you can with that you have where you are

day0ne

David

"Lately it occurs to me: What a long, strange trip it's been." - R. Hunter

Crab Pot

jtwill98

The springs look fully compressed under the yoke.  Can you depress and release the yoke freely?

Crab Pot

Quote from: jtwill98 on June 19, 2023, 11:21:46 PMThe springs look fully compressed under the yoke.  Can you depress and release the yoke freely?

The springs are good not at all compressed.

I know the angle of the photo deceiving.

jtwill98

It looks good, otherwise.  When you put the rest of it together is the spool spool engaging, but the concentric release is not allowing engagement of the main gear. Is this correct?   If so, better let one of the Penn experts chime in. 

Crab Pot

Quote from: jtwill98 on June 20, 2023, 01:16:08 AMIt looks good, otherwise.  When you put the rest of it together is the spool spool engaging, but the concentric release is not allowing engagement of the main gear. Is this correct?   If so, better let one of the Penn experts chime in. 

The spool does not engage, when I free reel the handle side off the frame it sounds great but the main gear is not moving.

Figured I'd put it together to see if spool tension may have something to do with it nothing.

foakes

Pull out the pinion gear —- then see if it mates up with the spool —- and that there are no burrs anywhere.