Built Surfmaster 100 target range

Started by JasonGotaProblem, August 27, 2023, 01:00:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Surfrat

I have a Penn Surfmaster 100 that have all original parts except new ht100s and I still use it today. I put 50# to 65# braid or 25# mono on mine. I often use it for casting lures in the surf for Stripers but I often caught Bluefish.  :o  :P
I love my Surfmaster reels.  ;D

MisterStinky

Quote from: Surfrat on October 21, 2023, 11:35:16 AMI have a Penn Surfmaster 100 that have all original parts except new ht100s and I still use it today. I put 50# to 65# braid or 25# mono on mine. I often use it for casting lures in the surf for Stripers but I often caught Bluefish.  :o  :P
I love my Surfmaster reels.  ;D

What's the lightest lure you can cast with it in a no wind situation?

JasonGotaProblem

I did finally get to throw a few casts. I'm a bit out of practice and was a bit to conservative with my thumb to prevent ratnests, but I was throwing 6oz about 70yds pretty comfortably, with definite room for improvement as I get less rusty.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

MisterStinky

Quote from: JasonGotaProblem on October 21, 2023, 12:56:09 PMI did finally get to throw a few casts. I'm a bit out of practice and was a bit to conservative with my thumb to prevent ratnests, but I was throwing 6oz about 70yds pretty comfortably, with definite room for improvement as I get less rusty.

👍 Are you wanting to target snook with that weight on the end? I only ask because I think I read that you prefer to freeline or use splitshot. I was curious if you could cast a freelined shrimp far without backlashing.

I am being nosey because I fish for barramundi which are very similar to snook.. Ive just bought a squidder jr but havent had a chance to fish it yet (have a newborn at home and dont want to risk a divorce just yet ;)

oldmanjoe