penn 49 for codfishing

Started by andrew_g, March 30, 2012, 06:58:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

andrew_g

This is my first time posting and I'd like to say hello to Alan and everyone else. Alan, this is a great site and I've learned a lot from reading many posts.

My question is about a penn 49 for new england codfishing. Over the winter I found a penn 49 in my dad's attic. I upgraded it by replacing the old chrome spool with a new aluminum one (also had to replace the bridge along with the main and pinion gears), upgraded the drag washers to HT-100's, and also put on a new stainless steel gear sleeve and jigmaster power handle. What I noticed is that up to 10 pounds of drag, the reel is smooth, but when I max out the reel at around 16 pounds, the drag begins to stick and jump between 13 and 16 pounds. Is 16 the max for this reel? I thought that because the drag washers are so big (almost like a 115 senator) that they would hold more than that.

I like to have 15 pounds of consistent drag for codfishing. I do about 12 cod trips a year (mostly party boat but a few charters) and like to have that much drag because most of the time we are winching the fish up from 200-400 feet. Up to now I've been using a 113h, but since obtaining the mariner I'd like to use it for cod jigging. I like the narrow spool. Don't care too much for level winds and the 49 is a lot easier to thumb than a 113h. This is becoming a long post, but my two questions for anyone reading this are: how much drag do you really need to winch up codfish from the 250 plus feet without the drag slipping, and what is the max drag for the 49 without causing any damage to the reel? Thanks.

Andrew

akfish

I would say you are maxing the drag at 10 pounds. The SS gear sleeve and aluminum spool make it a much better reel, but it's still a 30# class reel.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

Alto Mare