Penn 113h first time maintenance. Is something wrong?

Started by Augie3000, October 05, 2012, 10:57:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Augie3000

Hi all.  I followed Dom's advice and bought two 113h reels off of Ebay.  Both were in pretty good shape.  I finally got all my parts delivered and all my tools in order.  Today I went through the first reel and replaced the drags and gave it a good once over.  This is my first time doing this.  When I put the reel back together, everything seemed ok and seemed to work correctly.  However, if I back the drag all the way off, the handle doesn't crank effortlessly; it has some resistance.  When I tighten the drag a little the resistance goes away and everything seems to be in order.  I don't know if this was happening before I took the reel apart or not.  Also, the drag seems to be working properly otherwise and I can tighten it down.  Here are some pics of the maintenance. 

Here's the old drag stack.

And here's the new stack with the old metal washer under the main gear replaced by a 6-875 from scotts penn parts.

I checked the height of the stack.  Here it is.  When the reel was assembled that eared washer seems to stay in place and not ride above the lip of the gear.  So I don't "think" that is the problem, if there even is a problem.  ???

Oh, I forgot to take a picture of putting in the dog, but you can see its in in the next pics.

So, do I have an issue here? Or is this just normal?

Thanks so much.  I couldn't have gotten anywhere near this far without all your help so far.

Augie

Alto Mare

Nice pictures Augie. The problem is with your drag stack, the last eared washer should be flush with the gear , yours is above. here is a shot of mine, the plate on the right is soimilar to yours:

Check your metal keyed washers one should be thicker and it goes at the very top. Good luck!
Sal
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

Augie3000