Long Beach 67 - the drag washer conspiracy!

Started by morays, December 11, 2012, 04:51:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

morays

Hi,

Firstly, great site.  I am a newbie to salt water trolling and have managed to get a Long Beach 67 and 68 for $20.  I have stripped down and cleaned the 67 and am ready to reassemble but I want to replace the drag washers first.  I keep seeing that there should be 3 drag washers in the assembly on websites that I have visited but this particular reel has 5 drag washers and 5 steel washers.  2 of the steel washers have small lugs on the outer rim and three have inner shapes that match the bridge sleeve.  Does this mean that the washer model will not be the 6/1-113 that the manual states to use as it only states that there should be three of them???
Any help would be greatly appreciated, including what I might find once I open the 68 :)
Is there any way to tell the age of the reels as there is noting that I can see that is stamped anywhere on the reel.

Moray

raumati01

One of the things I've learned from this site is that the older penns have what is called a 3+1 drag, three fibre washers and one under the gear set and the later models have the better 5+1.
Someone more knowledgable then me will be able to fill you in on whether or not you can upgrade to the later model setup which gives you more surface area and better drags.

What do you intend fishing for with the reels?Their retrieve is pretty slow by modern standards.

Ron Jones

Someone has already upgraded your drags. If the fibre disks are made of carbon fiber and in good shape you can lubricate them with Cal's grease and put the reel back together ready to go.

Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

alantani

you have already been upgraded!  check to see if you have a carbon fiber washer under the main gear as well.  add drag grease and you should be all set!