Increasing the drag in an Avet

Started by AJFISH13, March 15, 2013, 12:23:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AJFISH13

Hello. My name is Arthur and I am trying to use my Avet SX for an project in my engineering class. I want to increase the maximum drag to 20lbs without destroying the right side plate bearings. And yes, I have some prior experience with what happens when you use more than 10lbs of drag with an Avet(Ive blown out 2 bearing in the past year and a half). Any ideas or suggestions or am I just wasting my time? I also wanted to try and put a digital backlash system into my Avet based on the Calais DC system althought the Calais is a baitcaster and the Avet is a lever drag. Again, any ideas or suggestions or am I just wasting my time?

Keta

Try to find an angular contact bearing that will work for the pinion bearing (#23 on a SX 5.3, #24 on a SX 6/4) preferably a flanged one so it doesn't have a chance to be installed backward.  You might also need an angular contact bearings for the left side spool bearing, #7 and #14. The load is on the inter race on the spool bearings so you probably can get by with just the pinion. 

If you find a bearing post where you got them.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Robert Janssen

Actually Keta, you've been asking about small flanged AC bearings for quite some time. I noticed some earlier today, but don't know the dimensions for the Avet reels. Dimensions i've seen posted in various forums have been unreliable.  (bad math, bad measuring technique?? etc)

Do you happen to know the proper dimensions?

Keta

I have several MX's to do soon and have new pinion bearings comming, I'll get the #s and get back to you as soon as I get them.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Robert Janssen