Hollow core worth it.

Started by Ron Jones, June 12, 2013, 08:08:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ron Jones

I have been tying a bunch of mono to braid lately but I have no experience with hollow core. I would love to buy some spools from Alan at Black Pearl and some rigging needles and keep up with the Jones' but it is a lot of money. Is theor any advantage to hollow core loop to loop conections over a Yucatan knot other than the fact that the loop goes through the eyes better? I've even tied a piece of heavy mono onto braid and them put a surgeon's loop in the mono so I can swp leaders, if you haven't tried it it works great. I have complete faith in the surgeon's loop as I have caught fish on it for many decades, I'm just wondering what I'm missing not using hollow.

Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

conchydong

The main reason I like hollow is that you can replace bad sections with an inline splice that is 100%. The fact that you can also perform knotless loops for loop to loop connections or if you prefer a mono/fluoro insertion with a serve or sato crimp is nice also.

SoCalAngler

What conchy said is spot on for hollow use. When connecting spectra to mono/fluoro of 60lbs or less I tie, mono/fluoro over 60lbs I like hollow for other connections and can change toppers quickly after landing big fish. I can tie the connection I use for spectra to mono almost as fast as it takes to do the cats paw though. I have not used the spectra from Black Pearl but I have found hollow spectra of 50lb and less a PITA to open and work with.

Keta

Hollow lays flatter on your spool and does not dig in as bad.  

SoCal,

Power Pro Ace in 40lb works well but it's coated.  I build a lot of 25lb and 30lb topshots using JB 40 hollow and it's a PIA but it can be done, 60 works much better but is too large for 25lb.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.