Daiwa 47SH Sealine: Horrible Crank Handle!!

Started by woodeye, August 01, 2013, 08:30:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodeye

I'm new to this post also. Have heard nothing but good stuff, tho and I'm glad to have finally signed up. I found an old Sealine 47SH level wind in great shape on eBay. I got it for a friend who is a "sometime" fisherman(At least, today.) I hung it on a Calstar Westcoast Series 196 7-C and gave to him. All Good. I have been setting him up when trolling salmon, as he is recently back after beucoup years out of it. Its a decent set-up, but the crank handle is HORRIBLE and the itty bitty knob is a complete PIT As You Were! What Handles work on this reel and where can I locate one? I get the impression Penn and Daiwa handles are interchangeable on these older reels. Is that even Possible?! Any personal favorites in a 'power' type handle with a large knob?
Also, the drags are just OK. I have just recently begun to work on my own reels again and I need recommendations for the really good drags for this Daiwa SEALINE 47SH reel, and where to get them. I've heard of SMOOTHDRAG Brand, what? CARBONTEX, or some such? Drag grease? Brand and whereabouts? Any help would be welcome. Cheap shots are OK, if accompanied by Wisdom and/or Experience.    Thanks, Woodeye.

alantani

lots of options.  check smoothdrag.com and also here on the for sale section. a carbontex drag upgrade is essential. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

woodeye

Thanks Alan. Handles? Whoops, in the sale section?

alantani

daiwa makes a power handle with a slightly larger grip and a longer counterbalanced arm.  i drill out the grip and bolt on one of my 3/0 grips.  they work great.  smoothdrag.com has carbontex drag sets for these reels.  they work great.  order up some cal's grease and some reel x while you're at it! 

woodeye

Would you do that drill-out, 3/0 mod? Or sell me the knob if "Even A Caveman Can Do It"?! Get The Power Handle direct from Daiwa?