small baitcaster for braid?

Started by floating doc, September 07, 2013, 03:32:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

floating doc

I'm thinking of a (preferably round framed) baitcaster sized reel for fishing 25-30 pound braid. I want to use it for the slow-jigging type snapper jigging like the Shimano Lucanus. It would need to reliably handle ~10 lbs of drag, with a dependable anti-reverse system. Gear ratio needs to stay around 5:1 to have some pulling power.

I have an old 6500 sized Ambassaduer Royal Express reel. I doubt it would deliver that kind of drag, or hold up if I tried. There's several choices if I could spend enough money, but I need to keep this below $80 or it's not going to happen.

Suggestions for used reels are ok with me; I haven't been burned on ebay for a while.

Impossible?
Central Florida

Bryan Young

I like my Abu 6500c3 with 20# braid and 8# of drag.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

floating doc

Quote from: Bryan Young on September 07, 2013, 03:55:51 AM
I like my Abu 6500c3 with 20# braid and 8# of drag.

Eight pounds is a lot!  Might not be enough for bottom fish on a reef, though.
Central Florida

Bryan Young

Then maybe the shimano tranx  trinidad guts in a larger baitcaster reel.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

MarkT

I usually use 50# braid on my baitcasters.  If nothing else it's easier to deal with than the smaller stuff.  I like the Calcutta TE300 for bottom fishing and it'll get 10# of drag.  No problem bringing up big Reds from 250'.
When I was your age Pluto was a planet!

A Tranx or Calcutta for $80?  You are not going to get lots of drag in a casting reel that can bottom fish for $80. Not even used, well used.  A new 6500C3 has 15lb. of drag, it $100. Don't imagine too many folks are bottom fishing a reef with one though!

floating doc