Drag help for DUEL 80 LIGHT circa 1997

Started by Mark Gunning, March 16, 2016, 06:41:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark Gunning

Two days ago this drag was grabbing when struck by a Blue Marlin which took 350 yds off. it wasn't nice to watch the 80lb rod buckle then spring back when the drag let go...
I cant see anything obvious wrong but im no drag expert.
What sort of washers are these?
Looks like some sort of woven cloth stuck to a stiff non metallic plate.
Duel did improve the drag on the newer model but they don't fit this reel. Ive written to Duel they couldnt help with this model.

Any advice on what I can do right now to get this drag ready for trolling for blues next week would be much appreciated.

Moving ahead I have 4 of these reels, is a conversion to better drag material a viable option and where would i get such washers?

Thankyou for any advice.

Mark Gunning

Some more photos.
The last one is from a couple of years back when I first bought the reels. I cleaned up all that corrosion and greased all surfaces and threads, I left the drag dry as ive heard greasing these old Duel washers can make them expand and you loose free spool... help.

Robert Janssen

They are made of carbon fiber cloth bonded to a non-metallic substrate, as their chief engineer told me many years ago, but i'm not sure what that substrate may be. If it appears to be layers of brown paper, there might be some merit to the no-grease thing, but if it seems more like fiberglass i wouldn't think so.

There have been discussions about the Duel drag washers here earlier, on a couple-three different threads. Use the search box up in the corner; you'll find them.

Mark Gunning

thanks for the feedback.

That substrate is very rigid, it may well be a fibreglass type product.