Starting Out with DAM

Started by 2Boston, November 05, 2021, 01:52:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2Boston

Good morning members. I'm new to DQ reels. I find them well built. I fish a good bit for Panfish and Pickerel. Bass and Channel Cats are my occasional by-catch. I prefer to use old equipment, i.e. 1950's and 1960's stuff. I Clean and replace parts in reels and re-wrap rods as necessary to enjoy my fishing. I used to say "hell no I'm not a collector", but we all know how that goes.
My primary collection consists of Johnson, Abumatics, Zebco, Mitchell, Penn and now DQ. I was recommended to this site by a fellow at fishingtalks. He said Fred would set me right up. Well that may or may not be the case as it may turn out that I'm un-helpable.
I have 3 DQ reels. Two are Finessa and one is a 247. The 247 is sporting a broken, partial spool and does not spin. The two finessa are fine and have been thought cleaned and re-assembled. They are big. One of the two needs bail parts.
Would someone here be able to tell me what models these are?  
Don in PA, USA

thorhammer

Fred is traveling but will be along directly.

2Boston

Thanks. I hope you all answer.

foakes

Good Morning, Don —

The (2) Finessas appear to be 285's from the mid to late 50's. These were the precursors to the 330 reels introduced in the 60's.  Starting with the 280 Finessas — and going up through the 285's — there were (4) variations of these reels — although many (most) parts will interchange.  These are good mid-size reels for a wide variety of fish.  Bronze and steel worm-drive — solidly built — well worth restoring and fishing.

The 247 was manufactured in 1968 — similar to the 248 — which is part of a more economical series of DAM Quicks.

This series includes the very small 218, 228, 238, 247, and 248.  No bearing — brass sleeved instead — gears and drive train not as robust as the Finessas and other Dam Quicks.  But a solid reel that is also well worth restoring.