Fin Nor LT 100 rated well by Alan Hawk. Ok, its a spinner.

Started by Reinaard van der Vossen, April 27, 2014, 02:32:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tightlines667

Good thread.
I also forgot to mention that I like the larger diameter drag washers in the versa-drag style (w/fitted/eared CF washers) and the stack under the spool over the diawa/fin nor types.  The penn seems to have a slightly better main gear as well as a superior line lay mech.  Also could use a few more bearings in my humble opinion.  Time will also tell how effective the simplified 'water resistant' seal system will 'hold water' in extreme surf tye environments.  The high end reels (diawa, van stal, and shimano) seem to have solved this issue admirably, and I can't see how these modifications are cost-prohibitive at reels designed at lower  price points.  But I'm no engineer.
Hope springs eternal
for the consumate fishermen.

maxpowers

This reel was not meant for dunking into the water.  Primarily used as a boat reel so a few splashes should be ok.   Even the SSV is not meant to be an underwater reel.  As for the drag, I do like the versa drag type more but as AH's wrote in his review, the drag performed well above expectation for a $100 reel.  As for the drive train, its nearest competitor are the SSVs and the Baitrunners and both have inferior metallurgy in the drive train.  The SSV's gears are cast zinc alloy main and brass pinion.  I am just excited because if this works out that meant the saying that a quality reel can't be built within $100-200 range is utter BS.

Three se7ens

Quote from: Tightlines666 on April 29, 2014, 09:26:16 PM
Good thread.