5000c questions from an absolute noob

Started by JasonGotaProblem, October 22, 2021, 03:54:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonGotaProblem

Do modern baitcasters have the same aversion to thin braid, or is that a side effect of using reels that predate braid?
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

steelfish

Quote from: JasonGotaPenn on October 22, 2021, 03:54:53 PM
I was given a box of baitcasters by a wonderful ohana member (Keith)

Keith is a Bad Boy, he should be laughing hard seeing how he just sent you straight to another rabbit hole, I hope you have big pockets because Abu ambassadeur reels tend to multiply like rabbits and tinkering them could be as /more expensive than mod a jigmaster/113h reel.
Geez Keith, shame on you  ;D ;D ;D ;)

with that said, Abu Garcia is the only brand I can considering myself a Fanboy, I have some ambassadeur 5500c, 6500c3, 6000c, 7000c, Record 60, Toro beast 60, Abu Revo Sx, Abu Ultra Max XL  and an Abu Cardinal Spinning reel, non of my ambassadeur reels have big upgrades other than carbontex drags and power handles, all of them are used on saltwater (what else) without problems .

I love to use my record 60 and abu 6500c3 for inshore fishing but I normally use them for shore fishing, both reels are paired with 9ft fenwick HMX rods 10-30lb 1-3oz (with 1.5ft extended reargrip to make it 10.5ft), with 50# braid line and top leaders of 20# mono

welcome to the addiction
The Baja Guy

handi2

I sent him some nice low profile reels too. They all have Carbontex drags and ceramic hybrid bearings.

They have magnetic cast control. I think he would have better luck learning to cast these reels.

Keith
OCD Reel Service & Repair
Gulf Breeze, FL

JasonGotaProblem