5000c questions from an absolute noob

Started by JasonGotaProblem, October 22, 2021, 03:54:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tincanary

Quote from: oc1 on October 29, 2021, 05:32:42 AM
What is the lightest whiffle spool for a 5000C?  Asking for both Jason and myself.

So, when it comes to casting light baits the controlling factors are spool weight, bearings, braking and levelwind.  Modern low-pros come with light spool, good bearings, magnetic and centrifugal breaking, and disengaging levelwind.  A 5000 can accommodate upgraded bearings, static magnets and levlwind removed.  The spool weight is the problem and might be insurmountable simply because of the large diameter.  So, is it impossible to modify a 5000 into a BFS reel?

For me, the fundamental problem with a 5000 is the size.   They are too tall to comfortably palmed.  To be honest, even the smaller ambassadeurs round reels are too large as well.  They seem to waste too much space under the hood,  The Calcutta 50 is a round reel, but very compact.