5000c questions from an absolute noob

Started by JasonGotaProblem, October 22, 2021, 03:54:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonGotaProblem

I was given a box of baitcasters by a wonderful ohana member (Keith) to play with, since I've never fished with anything other than spinners. After playing with them a bit dry, the one that seems to resonate with me most is the Abu 5000C (3 screw sideplates with serial# suggesting '74 vintage).

And maybe the problem is my questions are too basic and thats why I can't find a good answer, but that doesn't get me any closer to a plan of action.

I have no basis for comparison, what kind of fishing should I be using this for? Now I'm not a complete moron, I can gather its neither a crappie nor a tuna reel, but beyond that I cant figure out how to narrow it down further. Should i be using this in lakes for bass, nearshore for tarpon etc? I have no idea.

What size braid should I put on this thing?
What size lures should i plan on throwing with it?
How heavy duty of a rod should I pair it with?

The current newest thread in this subforum before this one posts is about an Abu 5000 and casting weight, and i got more info from that than i had from any previous source, but im still pretty far away from feeling "informed."

I hate outsourcing my research but I've been looking on and off for the past 2 weeks and haven't found any answers. Google searching is worthless these days unless what you're searching for aligns with what they're being paid to advertise, and nobody is paying them to advertise info about a 45 yr old reel.
Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

Hardy Boy