Blackfish Special

Started by Surfrat, April 15, 2022, 09:13:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Surfrat

Hi. I am trying to build a good/useable condition Penn Surfmaster 250 with Jigmaster 501 or jigmaster parts for "Blackfish Special". This is going to be my poor man's Jigmaster/Surfmaster for Blackfish.

I am not mechanical inclined or good with painting so don't expect to see a master piece but I want to make my 1st Franken reel out of Penn parts.

I have an ugly Surfmaster 250 that needs many parts. I am waiting for new drags and a new dog to arrive. I am looking for 501 or parts to assemble the skeleton to attach the 250. Stay tune...  :P

RowdyW

It looks like the pinion gear is worn out so you will need that with a matching main gear. Need to replace the gear sleeve too. It might be better to search for a decent used 500 or 501.    Rudy

Wompus Cat

I would slap some good Grease on the gears ,put some drags in it and put back together  and Fish IT  :fish .    Dog looks good to me . ;D
If a Grass Hopper Carried a Shotgun then the Birds wouldn't MESS with Him

Swami805

Great idea, is the spool shaft of a 501 compatible with 250 guts?  I have some Newell bases and bars but the spool might be tricky
Do what you can with that you have where you are

Surfrat

^-^ Yes, the Surfmaster 250 uses the same 29L-500 or 29L-501 spool on the Jigmaster 500 or 501. I am going to use a Jigmaster 501 frame, 501/506 posts, and a 29L-501 spool to make a Surfmaster 250N. The shiny curve on the dog shows it is worned out. The left or tail ring has a crack on where it goes with the frame post. My 250 has a 13-99 pinion(still good), steel 5-60 main gear, 11-99 eccentric jack, and 13-99 pinion yoke. Some of these original parts are not on the schematic I downloaded. :o

I got the idea from a few members here who all use a Tiburon frame on their 250. I love how Keta, Bryan Y, and Shark hunter, and Mo65 did theirs but I am going to try. :al