New to forum

Started by needsaboat, December 16, 2013, 03:58:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

needsaboat

I've been wondering around on here for a couple days and decides to join up.

I recently inherited several Newell's (540's, 546's, 550's), most are in need of some work.  I'm new to reel repair, but I plan on tackling these myself.  Is there still a source for Newell parts?

Also, most of these reels are 3.2's which are a bit low for the depth I fish, is there a way to change gear ratios?

Keta

Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

alantani

this one is going to be tough.  bearings are standard, drag sets are still available, nad we have handles!  other parts will be tough.  there are very few guys that have parts anymore. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Tightlines667

The Newell's are really popular reels here on Oahu, HI.  There are several local guys with expressive collections, and some which sell parts and upgrades on a regular basis.  Not sure if these guys might be willing to ship to you or not but if you look around different sites you might be able to find what you need.  There are at least 2 companies that are manufacturing aftermarket SS high speed gear sets for the 400 and 500 series, aftermarket handles are available, tiburon has frames and spools, there are several different options for bearings, and at least 2 complete drag kit upgrades available. 

This guy seems to always have a good inventory of Newell parts

http://honolulu.craigslist.org/oah/spo/4230027013.html

Might want to try to give him a call?

As I recall there is a guy in Florida that had a large stock of new/old stock newell parts, you may want to search around the net a bit.